Corpora: (FoLLI) E.W. Beth Dissertation Award: Call for Nominations

From: Maarten de Rijke (
Date: Tue Mar 05 2002 - 09:12:14 MET

  • Next message: Monika Wiemann: "Corpora: synonyms + corpus"

    The E.W. Beth Dissertation Prize: Call for Nominations

    Nominations are invited for the E.W. Beth Dissertation Prize
    awarded by the European Association for Logic, Language and
    Information (FoLLI) to outstanding dissertations in the fields of
    Logic, Language and Information. As no prize has been awarded
    during 2001, this year we invite nominations for two prizes, for
    2001 and for 2002. The award, which is 2500 Euros, donated by the
    E.W. Beth Foundation, will be split between the two winners.

    Who Qualifies?
    Those who were awarded the PhD degree in the area of Logic, Language
    and Information between either of the following periods:

    January 1, 2000 - December 31, 2000 (for the 2001 prize) or
    January 1, 2001 - December 31, 2001 (for the 2002 prize).

    How to Submit?
    We only accept electronic submissions. The following documents
    are required:

     * The thesis in pdf or ps format (doc/rtf not accepted)
     * A one page abstract in ascii format
     * A letter of nomination from the supervisor. Self-nominations
       are not possible; each nomination must be sponsored by the
       thesis supervisor. The letter of nomination should concisely
       describe the scope and significance of the dissertation and state
       when the thesis was submitted.
     * Two additional letters of support, including at least one
       letter from a referee not affiliated with the academic
       institution that awarded the Ph.D. degree.

    All documents must be submitted electronically. Hard copy
    submissions are not possible.

    For detailed submission instructions please visit

    Important Dates
    Deadline for Submissions: April 1, 2002
    Notification of Decision: June 1, 2002

    The prize will be handed to the winners during the European
    Summer School in Logic, Language and Information in Trento
    (Italy), August 5-16, 2002, probably on Friday August 9. Prize
    winners will be expected to attend the ceremony; funding to make
    this possible is currently being secured.

    Members of the E.W. Beth Dissertation Prize Committee:

    Anne Abeille (to be confirmed)
    Natasha Alechina (chair)
    Patrick Blackburn
    Nissim Francez
    Valentin Goranko
    Marcus Kracht
    Larry Moss
    Francesco Orilia
    Manfred Pinkal
    Christian Retore
    Rob van der Sandt
    Henriette de Swart

    This archive was generated by hypermail 2b29 : Tue Mar 05 2002 - 09:18:55 MET